Skip to content

whirlwind weekend.

June 20, 2011

Whew. Quite a busy weekend did I have. Wait, that made me sound a bit like Yoda there for a second.

Yes, it was a busy weekend, but a good one nonetheless. After working a regular work week from Monday through Friday, both my husband and I worked on Saturday. He covered a shift for a co-worker who was out of town and I shot a wedding. It was odd for both of us to not be at home on a Saturday, when we are usually relaxing or doing yard and house work. The wedding I shot was beautiful and simple, a very festive event that was easy to shoot. Afterwards I came home, crashed for a couple of hours and then met up with some old friends for a bit, before going back home for the evening.

Sunday was also busy. I managed to squeeze in a 6-mile run in the morning with friends and got to witness the most beautiful sunrise. Yes, it was an early morning. The run itself was hard, because it was hot, very humid and extremely windy. At one point, we were running uphill and I felt the wind push me forward. We covered 6.34 miles in 1:08, with an average of 10:49 min per mile. At one point, I was running a 9 min/mile pace and conversing with one of my friends – something that I never thought I could do. My running has definitely improved over the last couple of years! I never used to talk when I ran, even when it was an easy pace.

Later on, we had a quick conversation with my in-laws all the way in England, and we got to wish my father-in-law “happy father’s day”. Wish we could have been with them! But alas, we are in Texas. Anyways, my husband and I then drove to my parents’ house to celebrate Father’s Day and the four of us met up with my brother and his wife at the latest Chinese buffet restaurant in their neck of the woods. Yes, we are a Filipino family but my parents are all about their Chinese buffets. More bang for their buck. We had great fun, eating lots of food, catching up and laughing like crazy. I love getting to spend time with my family.

(well, well, well – the hubby indirectly got to avoid the camera! oh how shy he is.)

Also, I said goodbye to one of my very best friends and co-workers. She is moving to Georgia to do bigger and better things (such as a PhD in educational psychology) and we’re all so proud of her. I will miss you, friend! But remember, I’m going to see you in October – get ready to do a 5k with me in Georgia’s hilly terrain 🙂

Are you tired after reading this? I know I am 😉 And that concludes this whirlwind weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

