Skip to content

29 reasons to be grateful.

July 7, 2011

Today, I wanted to write down some reasons that I have for being grateful. 29 reasons, to be exact. I’m grateful for:

1. My hope and salvation is in Christ. I am who I am because of the Lord’s work in my life.

2. The best husband ever! He’s hilarious and smart and thoughtful and caring and loves God first and so many other things.

3. My house – exactly what I had prayed for. It’s old and not perfect by any means, but it fits us.

4. My job that I love. No, it’s not a career but that is fine by me. It’s a job where I can use my gifts to bless my coworkers, faculty and students.

5. My husband working at the same university as I do, so we’re able to see each other often (we eat lunch together 3x a week). I don’t think this is the norm for most couples.

6. My amazing family, both mine and my husband’s. We are blessed with a strong Christian heritage that we hope to pass down to our kids one day.

7. My ability to run. Not blazingly fast, but I can still run and enjoy it.

8. The opportunity to travel to 7 different countries and have seen the Lord’s beautiful work through the cultures and people I’ve encountered.

9. Great friends. I may not see some of them all the time, but they’re the kind of friends that when we finally do talk or get to hang out, it’s like we never skipped a beat.

10. The fun I have in writing this blog. It’s not a business, it’s not work, it’s just fun.

11. My husband’s support in all my ideas and adventures, from convincing him to take trips to waking up waaaay before dawn to drive me to a race.

12. My love of literature – give me Jane Austen and Rudyard Kipling and Jules Verne any day! I am such a bookworm. I’d much rather curl up with a book at home than to go out.

13. My 4 nieces and nephew. I wish we all lived closer (they live in Seattle and in England)  so I can spend time with them. But, thankfully, there’s skype!

14. The fact that my older brother’s wife is going to have a baby in December – their first child! And they live only 45 minutes away from us!

15. My two fantastic bosses. They are not annoying micro-managers. They are superbly competent in their field, thoughtful and caring to their subordinates and see the best in people.

16. Cheap airfares! This sounds kinda crazy, but I get about 5 emails each morning from different airfare websites. I’m always on the lookout for cheap tickets to England, Seattle, the Philippines and a couple of other places. I’m also hoping to visit two friends in Georgia in the fall. The airfare to our recent trip to San Francisco? $200 per person, round trip. Isn’t that great?

17. Laughter. If you were a fly on the wall at our house, well, you’d get smooshed. But before getting obliterated by our fly swatter, you would see how much my husband and I laugh. Seriously! We have a lot of fun and crack each other up. Every day that I’ve been married to my husband, we have laughed each of those days.

18. My first official pet ever, our sweet little cat Rina. She’s kind of psycho at times but we love her nonetheless.

19. The friends I’ve made through running. They are fantastic – they’ve motivated me in my goals and have helped hard runs go by so much faster through conversation and laughter.

20. Good coffee. I mean, come on! There’s a lot of crappy coffee out there and establishments that make coffee taste awful. I admit, my husband and I are coffee snobs.

21. Finally being solidly consistent with my running. This has helped me be in the best shape of my life. I feel healthy and strong!

22. The people in my life who truly believe in me, no matter how dumb I can be at times.

23. My college education. I have a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and a minor in English literature. Nope, I am not using my degree but having it has helped me land jobs, get through difficult situations at work and pushed me to work hard.

24. My high school and college girlfriends. You know who you girls are! Thankful for your friendships and that to this day, I can still call you “friend”.

25. The college town that I live in. It’s quirky, it’s weird, it’s fun.

26. My husband’s taste in music! He has the most eclectic music collection I’ve ever seen. He’s educated me so much about different music genres out there and has helped me to like music that I never would have listened to before.

27. Fried chicken. Enough said!

28. An indoor track at our recreation center on campus. Running in 100+ degrees is not very fun.

29. The things I’ve learned in the kitchen. I’ve been able to eat and make things I never would have 5 years ago!

I could go on and on and on. I am one blessed girl. “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Psalm 118:24. Today, I turn 29 years old. Happy birthday to me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ess permalink
    July 7, 2011 1:26 pm

    Love your list!!!!

  2. July 7, 2011 1:51 pm

    Enjoyed your list! You have so much to be Grateful for!

    When I read it, I thought, “we have so many similarities”- it crazy, I even forget you are Filipino for a moment and that is one of the main similarities not listed.

Leave a Reply

