Skip to content

three tangent thursday.

July 7, 2011

1. Today’s my 29th birthday. By 10 this morning, I had already eaten two pieces of cake. Do you know how much I love cake? Because I really do. Then two co-workers took me out to lunch at my favorite Asian restaurant in town. More food. Tonight, my husband and I are going to eat to continue celebrating. Birthday = copious amounts of food.

2. A couple of blogs that I follow (Mommy’s Going for a Run and Cotter Crunch) have written about why they blog. It makes me think about the reason why I write on here, several days a week. This is what I wrote as a comment on one of these blog posts:

I have to admit, sometimes I still struggle in terms of what I should write in my blog. mine isn’t strictly fitness/running – it started out as a recipe/food blog! I don’t know – the more I write, the more I want my blog to be an encouragement to others. To share with people the good things that are happening in my life. But I also don’t want to portray that I live a perfect life. I don’t think I’ve yet mastered the art of being vulnerable on here without sharing too much, you know? I do just have to remember why I do this in the first place, because it is fun and because of my hope that my words & experiences can encourage others.

There you have it, my friends. I’m not witty – I don’t think that’s why you read this. I don’t have original recipes – if I did and wrote about them here, you might not come back! I don’t have a lot of wisdom to offer you because I’m stumbling and learning as I go along. I’m just your ordinary, run-of-the-mill short Filipino girl who has a desire to be an encouragement to others. Right now, out here in internet-land, this is the only way I know how. I’m afraid that if I don’t know you personally and we don’t see each other on a day to day basis, you probably won’t know some of the deepest parts of my heart – the things that I long for and the things I struggle with. But you will find on here, at least I think so, a perfectly imperfect life that is full of hope and laughter and adventure. “Adventure” according to me, anyway. (Afterall, how much adventure can you have when you work 40 hours a week?!) I’ll just keep writing and hope that you will keep reading (and eating!).

3. Even though I am 29 years old today, I still look like I’m 15 years old. Yes, I know this is a good thing because when I’m 40 I’ll look like I’m in my twenties, but come on. Sometimes getting mistaken for a teenager can get a bit tired. College students I work with think I’m just an afterschool student worker trying to do a grown person’s job when they first meet me face to face. Like, what is she doing sitting behind that desk? Listen, kid – I’m probably ten years older than you are. Here’s hoping for some “aging” this year? Haha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

