Skip to content

privileges.

July 11, 2011

You know enough from my posts here that I love to run and cook. Not at the same time, though that would be quite something else, huh? I wish! I could get my exercise done and get dinner ready at the same time . . .

But I digress.

I ran 3 miles yesterday morning with my usual running crew, before church. I enjoyed those short miles, slowly running and talking with my friends Michelle (I’m not going crazy here, I really do have a friend named Michelle!) and Margaret (the guys were further up ahead, running at a bit of a faster pace). This run put me at my weekly mileage total of 13.7 miles.

And onto a brand-new week.

I knew that today, I would need to do a tempo run. Furthermore, I wanted to do a 5-mile tempo run. For some reason, though, the thought of running 5 miles seemed like a drag to me. Maybe it’s the post-weekend blues? Who knows. I almost started talking myself out of this workout until it dawned on me that running is a privilege. I don’t have to run, I get to run. I have healthy lungs and strong legs. I get to make use of my strengths to enjoy this God-given gift. I’m no Kara Goucher but I still consider running a gift – not everyone can do this and not everyone enjoys it even if they can run.

It made me think of a few other things in my life. I get to spend time with my husband, making the most of every moment we have, even if it’s working on chores side by side or sitting in a coffee shop chatting about our days at work. I get to talk on the phone with my parents, I get to email back and forth with my in-laws and I get to hang out with my friends. Sure, we have to eat but I get to cook good and healthy things for us. I get the chance to serve alongside my husband at church, greeting people as they walk through the doors, hoping that we can give them a warm welcome. I get to go to work and enjoy full-time employment, which helps put money in our bank account. I get to wake up each day, praise God for all the he has given me and for all that He is.

I admit that there are many times when I don’t want to do any of these things, because I’m tired. Because I’m lazy. Because I have too many other things I’d rather do. Because I get caught up in my own little world that I forget to look outside of myself. I whine and complain and cry “woe is me” when things are hard or when I’m inconvenienced. I’ve been known to be a little drama queen at home. I can be really stubborn and super determined, and this is not always a good thing. Because I think it’s all about me. What can I say? I can be really selfish like that.

And then I get slapped in the head with a figurative two-by-four I’m reminded that life is a privilege. That I’m living and breathing and talking and walking and laughing and running. That I am saved by grace and don’t have to be perfect. That I am blessed beyond belief and have all that I could ever need. That I can get up out of bed, put on my gym clothes and shoes, tie my laces, strap on my watch and run. That I have abundant privileges that I should not take for granted.

It’s funny that I needed to do a 5-mile run in order to wake up yet once again to smell the roses, see what I have in my life and make the most of it. Even when I don’t feel like it. Even when I don’t want to.

post-run me. lovely, huh?

like my new kicks? my first pair of Sauconys. thanks to a very gracious birthday gift from some fantastic people.

5-mile tempo run complete.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly michelle permalink
    July 12, 2011 2:58 am

    i freakin’ love your face and am so thankful to have you as such a good friend!

  2. Laura G. permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:53 am

    What a good way to look at life. I do think you can run and cook at the same time- if you have something going in the crockpot or slow cooking in the oven. Just a thought!

  3. July 12, 2011 2:58 pm

    What a lovely thought for the week. As our Midwest heat cooks us slowly this summer, I’ve been grudgingly going about my daily tasks. I should be thankful for the wonderful seasons God gave us and the opportunity I have to do things that benefit my family. Thanks, Michelle!

    • July 12, 2011 3:56 pm

      Hi Erin, glad you enjoyed this post. that’s my goal – to be an encouragement to others! PS – I JUST realized that you are Jason’s sister! I was looking at your blogroll (need to add you to mine, by the way!) and saw his blog on there. So I clicked on it and I saw your blog on his list! I was like, ooooooh. Haha!

Leave a Reply

