Skip to content

recipe: caprese melts

July 14, 2011

You need to make these. Like, now. I mean it!

Caprese melts are perfect for a light, summer evening meal. And light was exactly what I was going for when I thought about our dinner menu this week. Taking a slight detour from the original caprese salad, these melts are pretty cheap to make and definitely easy on the effort. Plus, with the use of vine-ripened tomatoes, I definitely feel like I’ve more than conquered my fear of the lycopene-filled vegetable. I mean, fruit. Right, Uncle Jesse?

(Anyone catch the Full House reference there? Okay, I’m a nerd. And proud of it!)

Caprese Melts (slightly adapted from MyRecipes)
serves 2

  • olive oil
  • 8 slices of sourdough bread (from a small, short loaf)
  • handful of basil leaves, rinsed & dried
  • 4 slices of tomato (with seeds removed)
  • 8 small slices of fresh mozzarella cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

1. Brush one side of each slice of bread with olive oil.

2. Set four of the pieces of bread, oil side down, in a baking sheet.

3. Equally divide and place the basil leaves on the bread.

4. Top with the tomato slices and two pieces of mozzarella cheese.

5. Lightly sprinkle with salt and pepper, and place the remaining pieces of bread on top to complete the sandwiches, with the oil side facing up.

6. Broil for 1-2 minutes on one side, or until golden brown, then flip the sandwiches over and broil for another minute (watch the bread carefully so as not to burn). Serve immediately, with a salad if you so choose.

On another note, here’s three tangents for this Thursday evening:

1. I’m going to see Harry Potter 7 part 2 . . . at midnight, just a couple of hours left! I am so excited. Thankfully I don’t have to be at work tomorrow. (Come to think of it, I really haven’t been at work since Tuesday – because I’ve been sitting in a hotel conference room learning about Excel for the past two days. Good stuff, lots that I learned.)

2. I was able to run twice already this week – on Monday and yesterday. I ran a 5-mile tempo run like I mentioned and yesterday, I ran 8 miles. Whew! That brings up my weekly total to 13 miles and I hope to bring the total to 18 miles by Sunday – with a speed run tomorrow and a short run on Sunday morning. We’ll see! I felt so strong during my 8-mile run. I actually miss long runs, is that odd?

3. I am looking forward to having the day off tomorrow. My plans? Sleep in, skype with my sister-in-law who lives in England, run at the rec center, watch some movies at home and bake bread!

Okay – one more time. Make these caprese melts. You won’t regret it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 6:43 pm

    That looks good – melted cheese, crispy bread! I’m looking forward to long runs, too, and to seeing your blog post about your homemade bread!

Leave a Reply

