Skip to content

to be honest with you, part 1.

July 17, 2011

To be honest with you . . .

I’m really glad our church has evening services. This way, I can sleep in on Sunday mornings (when we’re not serving on our greeting team), get my meal-planning and grocery shopping done, and then attend church with my husband. Actually a great way to end the weekend and to start the new week.

To be honest with you . . .

I’ve still never really picked up my cat and held her. Is that not weird? But let me explain myself – I’ve never ever had a pet before so having a cat is still a bit strange to me. I’m scared of her claws. Thankfully my husband is an animal-whisperer.

To be honest with you . . .

I’ve eaten quite a few carbs this weekend. No, I’m not running a race. No need for carb-loading here! However, I’ve been on a baking kick with my bread machine so we’ve eaten a lot of pan de sal and homemade pizza. Hmm, I think I need to cut back. Or, maybe not.

To be honest with you . . .

I don’t really ever have cravings but one thing I’m always ready to eat is fried chicken. Alas, my husband looks out for my well-being and fried chicken doesn’t really make an appearance in our household. Maaaaybe once a month, if that. Sigh.

To be honest with you . . .

I’ve grumbled said to my husband how much I HATE living in Texas in the summer time. Hate it, hate it, hate it. It’s too fricking hot. Why can’t we live in Seattle or in London? Where the weather is cooler and where my nieces and nephew are? πŸ™‚

To be honest with you . . .

Since watching the latest Harry Potter movie a few days ago at midnight, I’ve been watching the other movies again, starting with the first one. I’m now back to “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire” – not my favorite but it’s still Harry Potter! People, if you haven’t watched the movies, you should. And if you’ve never read the books, you MOST DEFINITELY should. The books are amazing.

To be honest with you . . .

I have a long list of things I want/need to do today. Exercise. Meal-plan. Mess around on facebook. Tidy up the living room. Tidy up our bedroom. Put laundry away. Go grocery shopping. Call an old friend to catch up. Go to church. Watch another Harry Potter DVD. Bake more bread! Do my devotional and spend time with the Lord. I know what I need to do first, so I’ll end this soon.

And to be honest with you . . .

I’m really grateful that you read my blog. Afterall, who am I that I am so important? I’m not. I’m just an ordinary girl using this space as a way to release nervous energy (haha) and encourage others (and to document all the food we eat around here!). You and I may not believe in the same things, but I hope that you respect me and what I write on here. While my main topic tends to be about food, you know that I’ll write about other things that strike my fancy and things that are near and dear to my heart, like running, my family and my walk with Christ. And specifically about my faith in the Lord, I don’t ever set out to offend anyone when I write about God. It’s only just the biggest part of my life and frankly, I can’t help but share about him. Don’t worry – this blog won’t turn into a spiritual blog but if and when I do write about my faith, please bear with me. It’s who I am and I can’t ignore it.

To be honest with you . . .

I KNOW I’m long-winded! πŸ™‚ I’m done now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2011 3:01 pm

    I also have a confession: I’ve seen all (except for the new one) Harry Potter movies, but I’ve only read the first book. I read a lot, but for some reason never read the rest of the series. Long series are kind of intimidating to me, though.

  2. July 18, 2011 7:09 pm

    Love your honesty. I never grew up with pets and it wasn’t until college I learned how to pet dogs to be friendly. Even now, I am clueless sometimes what to do with my dog, but she understands… but cats, I have picked one up and I looked so awkward.

    I watched Harry Potter yesterday and loved it. It made me want to go home and watch them all over again to see the correlations. I have seen all the movies, but NEVER read the books. I don’t know if I would still enjoy them even if I have seen the movies.

    I enjoy reading your blog! Having one is sometimes hard to upkeep, I am learning.

    • July 22, 2011 3:29 pm

      Melinda, I’m glad I’m not the only one! Bryan’s really trying to encourage me to learn to pick up our cat. i’m still a weenie about it.

      You should definitely read the books! I have the first four – you can borrow them anytime πŸ™‚

      And thank you – I’m so glad you enjoy reading my blog.

  3. July 19, 2011 11:53 pm

    I hear you on the Texas heat and would like to live somewhere cooler, too, but when most of the country is cold, I can still run in shorts and my energy gels have never frozen!

    I’m a greeter at church, too! : )

  4. July 20, 2011 8:36 pm

    youre important to me and yes, we have evening service too. Love it!

Leave a Reply

