Skip to content

rest. even for just two days.

July 26, 2011

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under the trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.”
– John Lubbock

Now, if I were to do this in Texas, I’d be melting. Well, probably just suffer from heatstroke. Boy, I’d get so many weird looks from people if I was just lying on the grass outside. Everyone’s hunkered inside, where the air-conditioning is πŸ™‚

But I love this quote, because it reminds me that rest is necessary. That resting doesn’t mean laziness.

I’ve needed to rest.

In my attempts to reach a weekly mileage goal (I’ve mentioned in a previous post that I’m wanting to build up to running 20-25 miles a week), I think I’ve overexerted myself and not being wise in my choices (staying up way too late at night!). No worries – I don’t have any injuries, thank the Lord. Last week I ran a total of 15.5 miles, spread throughout the week, between four days of running. Unfortunately, my last run was during the weekend,when our friend Micah was in town for a visit. Meaning, very little sleep for my husband and I. Meaning, I was probably going on day 5 or 6 on getting very little sleep, as I’d been going to bed around midnight for most of the week. Now, I wouldn’t trade our time with Micah for anything – we had so much fun eating and laughing and catching up. I was also very busy cooking. Just too much activity for me, I think. If I could do the weekend over again, I would skip my Sunday morning run. I certainly could have used the sleep.

Running has helped me to listen to my body. To understand every ache or pain that I feel. To know when to speed up or to slow down. By Sunday night, I was ready to slow down.

I didn’t run yesterday.

And I don’t plan on running today, or doing any other form of exercise.

Do you know what I’m going to do? In a few minutes, I’m getting off this computer and head across town to sit at a coffee shop in our downtown area. I’m going to order a non-fat iced mocha and enjoy every taste of this cold beverage. I’ll also probably snack on a brownie. I’m going to chat with a friend whom I haven’t seen in a long while, sharing stories of how we’ve struggled, how we’ve laughed, and how God has grown us in the last couple of months. Then, I’m going home and prepare a dinner for my husband and I – a simple meal of spinach and smoked provolone omelets. I’m going to enjoy the last remaining hours of the day with him, probably laughing our heads off watching old episodes of “Frasier”. And I’m going to bed early. So I can get more some more rest.

Have I told you how much I love resting? Because I do. Even though part of me wants so much to just move and go and zoom around. I still love to rest. I need to rest.

I don’t feel bad not running. I would rather rest now, take care of my body and be well enough to be able to run until I’m 80 years old. I want to enjoy running when I’m that old.

I think taking these last two days off from running is good for me. I think by tomorrow afternoon, I’ll be rested enough for a 3 mile run. And then I’ll be back on schedule.

Resting from running has given me pause to think about a few other things in my life. You know how your house can get cluttered as the week progresses? I think our minds can get cluttered as well. Too much noise. From the radio, from people, from entertainment.

Too much “us”. Too much “me”.

Once again I’m reminded that this life is not about me. Unfortunately, I can put an unnecessarily huge amount of focus on myself at times. There’s so much more to life than my wants and needs. So much than my convenience. So much more than my goals and aspirations.

I’m glad I’ve been reminded of this.

I’m off, to keep resting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 4:55 pm

    Wow! What a great quote and a great post! I loved reading this! And your day sounds absolutely wonderful! I would like a day like that. I am doing a similar thing for myself today. With all of the triathlon training I try to fit in each week, many other things get pushed to the side. So today I’m skipping the afternoon swim in favor of some of those things (and I am pretty excited…about clean laundry and dishes). ha!

    I hope you enjoyed your day and are getting more SLEEP! That stuff is important! πŸ™‚

    • July 29, 2011 6:36 pm

      Thanks, Jane! It was a great day. The Lord has really showed me this week to slow down. Praying through some stuff – like how to balance my running with everything else I’ve got going on. But I can’t wait to get back to running next week πŸ™‚ have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

