Skip to content

like peanut butter and jelly.

July 28, 2011

That’s right. Some things just go together well, like peanut butter and jelly. Peas and carrots. Laverne and Shirley!

Or, pizza and beer.

Yep, last night was an easy night of cooking for me. Easy was exactly what I needed after a bad run at the gym. I wasn’t really feeling a long run but after work, I went straight to the rec center. Since I was feeling a bit “off” already, I decided to just do an interval workout – at least I’d get to walk in between runs, right?

0.25 mile (2 laps) in 1:49 min – 7:15 min/mile pace
0.25 mile (2 laps) in 1:44 min – 6:55 min/mile pace
0.125 mile (1 lap) in 50 sec – 6:40 min/mile pace
0.125 mile (1 lap) in 50 sec – 6:40 min/mile pace
0.0625 mile (half a lap) in 20 sec – 5:19 min/mile pace

Boy I was glad to be done! And ready for something to eat. Thankfully, I had made pizza a few days before and had an extra ball of dough in the freezer. Thawed it, rolled it out and voila –

Spinach and pepperoni pizza.


So good! Pepperoni isn’t very healthy but I sure do love the taste. To sort of redeem the dish, I added the spinach for a bit of nutrition. Right? 🙂 And you can’t have pizza without beer. Okay, yes you can but pizza tastes so much better with a little beer on the side. Especially if it’s this:


Samuel Smith’s organic raspberry ale. Delicious. So fruity! And tastes almost like a lambic (my absolute favorite is Lindemans Framboise).

On another note, if you have a cat, does it ever lay on the ground like this?

Our cat looks like a squirrel! She’s a funny, funny one.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 1:19 pm

    Ha! I’ve seen my cat in that position before. Maybe big cats need to distribute their weight a little better by assuming squirrel positions. Words also does this thing where he sits up tall and curls his tail around his feet like a statue. It’s especially funny if he does it while he’s sitting in the corner of a room, or some place where you might actually have a cat statue.

  2. July 29, 2011 6:31 pm

    Isn’t it an odd position?? We laugh every time we see our cat sprawled out like that. That’s awesome about your cat – ours will just sit still too and she looks like a statue!

  3. August 11, 2011 3:18 pm

    WOW this pizza looks amazing. I think I’m going to have to try it… maybe today haha!

    I briefly met you the other night, and I think I found your blog through something Andrea posted. I just started a food blog too. Fun! I look forward to coming back here to find new treats!

    • August 11, 2011 3:19 pm

      Hi Liz, yes I remember you – it was nice to meet you! I’ll check out your blog – I love reading other food blogs 🙂

Leave a Reply

