Skip to content

recipe: microwaved chocolate cake in a mug

July 29, 2011

Desperate times call for desperate measures.

Okay, maybe I’m not exactly desperate but on Friday night, one of my friends posted on Facebook how much she wanted a cookie. A chocolate chip cookie. All of a sudden, I craved something sweet. Not wanting to make a whole batch of cookies (mine never turn out well, anyway), I decided to make a microwaved chocolate cake in a mug. After looking at a few recipes online for some ideas, I came up with my own:

Looks good, right? Weeeelll, in my quest to make my own microwave chocolate cake in a mug, this particular “cake” ended up being a really thick and crispy cookie. Suffice to say, it wasn’t the best thing. (But if I was desperate, I’d eat all of it! It really wasn’t bad. Just thick and crunchy.)

Let’s try again, shall we?

Microwaved Chocolate Cake in a Mug

Ingredients

  • 4 tbsp whole wheat white flour
  • 2 tbsp dark unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tsp ground flax seed
  • 1 tbsp mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 med egg, beaten
  • 1 tbsp olive oil or canola oil
  • 2-3 tbsp of water

1. Mix dry ingredients in a large microwave-safe mug.
2. Add wet ingredients to dry ones, stirring until batter is smooth.
3. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes on high.
4. Let the cake sit in the mug for 1-2 minutes, then use a spatula to loosen the it from mug. Eat the cake directly from the mug or put on a small plate!

It’s really, really good. Sweet, but not too sweet. Not the healthiest of desserts but it’s not bad at all! I’ll have to come up with a way to make it sweet without using sugar – maybe honey? And next time, I’ll use an egg replacement to lower the fat content. Regardless, I’m glad I created this! Can’t you tell how happy I am? 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 11:09 am

    instant chocolate cake in a mug is GOD’s great creation! haha, jk, but he makes us smart like that.

  2. July 31, 2011 11:09 pm

    This looks awesome! The perfect mini dessert 🙂

  3. August 1, 2011 2:09 am

    looks great and so easy! i like easy!

  4. August 1, 2011 2:28 pm

    This makes me laugh! Sounds like something I would try if I were more creative. Excellent idea.

    • August 1, 2011 4:01 pm

      I was desperate! 🙂 My husband just stood there, laughing and shaking his head at me.

  5. August 3, 2011 4:10 pm

    oh my gosh…it should not be that easy to make something so delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

