Skip to content

crickets.

August 3, 2011
tags:

*chirp, chirp*

*chirp*

*chirp*

Yep. Crickets. It’s been quiet around here, huh? I could use a whole slew of excuses but really I’ve just had an odd week of sorts, nothing bad though, plus traveling out of town to visit a friend and trying to survive 105+ degree weather each. freaking. day. Whew! Gotta stay inside to stay cool!

My life hasn’t been exciting as of late, but then again, when is it exciting? 😉 Well, actually, the husband and I took a very short trip to Oklahoma City as a belated birthday present for me (we stayed at a nice-ish hotel downtown) and to visit my good friend Kim. We had a lot of fun! Kim took us to three different restaurants in OKC, plus a wonderful bookstore, a house converted into a coffee shop and the OKC Memorial. We also stopped by her house, which was built in the 1920s – very cool. We talked a lot and laughed a lot and it was just so good to catch up with a wonderful friend. Thanks, Kim, for your hospitality! And for introducing us to some great food . . . had no idea OKC was such a foodie town.

I definitely have to mention the OKC Memorial again. I remember when it all happened. I was in 6th or 7th grade. The whole thing was so sad, so many lives perished. Seeing the memorial brought tears to my eyes, but I felt so peaceful at the same time. The architects did a great job of conveying peace when they designed the memorial. It’s beautiful.

Anyhoo, about the food. If you’re ever in OKC, you have to visit:

1) Zorba’s – mediterranean food (I had the moroccan chicken with basmati rice, pita bread, tabbouleh and tzaziki sauce)

2) McNellie’s – black bean & plantain burger with sweet potato fries, washed down with my favorite brew – Lindeman’s Framboise

3) The Wedge – Wedge trio (flatbread with herbs and parmesan, served with red bell pepper hummus, roasted artichokes and kalamata olive tapenade) and truffle shuffle pizza (with truffle oil, roasted chicken, spinach, sage, cremini mushrooms, parmesan and mozzarella)

Seriously so good. I think the truffle shuffle was the best pizza I’ve ever eaten and that red bell pepper hummus? I could have eaten that by the tub.

(well, no food pictures here because we just inhaled it all. but here are other pics)

Ahhh, thankful for a great trip to OKC. Loved getting to hang out with you, Kim!

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan permalink
    August 4, 2011 12:09 pm

    Sounds like a great time! I remember the OKC bombing, too. Strange memory, processing all that information at a young age.

  2. August 4, 2011 2:21 pm

    OKC was always a stop-over town for my family when I was growning up. We never really stayed for very long. Cool post.

  3. Kim permalink
    August 4, 2011 2:23 pm

    🙂 it was such an incredible weekend. So so so enjoyed seeing you guys and eating good food. And it was great to see the memorial. Next time we need to see the museum! Love you friend!!!

  4. August 5, 2011 2:31 pm

    plantain burgers??? i LOVE plantains!!! that sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

