Skip to content

confession and ice cream.

August 9, 2011

So I have a confession to make. It’s currently August 9. The university I work for does not begin classes until August 25. However, students start coming back next week, on Monday, for all sorts of meetings and orientations. This means busy, busy, busy times for this little blogger right here. I’ve got to put in extra hours to accommodate our students’ and faculty’s needs, which means the little free time I’ll have will be to go straight home, hopefully relax for a bit and then cook dinner for my husband and I (I’ve already started a new routine of going to the rec center at 6 am because we all know I’m not going to have the emotional, physical or mental energy to exercise after putting in 9-10 hours of work each day). I confess that this blog might get put on the back burner for about a month or so. I’m still going to do my best to blog, though! It just be might sporadic. This bums me out but a girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do – work, that is! I have to help put money on the table 🙂 But, while the city’s population swells (and so does traffic) because all the college students are back, I love the start of the new school year. I don’t know, there’s something different in the air. Maybe excitement? Plus, I really do love my job – I get to interact with students on a daily basis and it’s just really fun working in my particular department. I’m a blessed girl.

On another note, these days I find myself thinking of cool things. No, not trendy, hip things but “cool” things like snow, ice cream, and even rain! Yep – Texas is still stuck in 100+ degree weather. Apparently we’re going for some record of more than 30 days in a row to not have any rain? I’ve lost count of non-rainy days. So, in honor of all things “cool”, you need to check out this article I found on yahoo.com:

America’s Best Ice Cream Cities

(image credit here)

I once watched a documentary on PBS about America’s historic ice cream parlors. It made me want to travel all over the U.S. to visit these places! I LOVE ice cream. My husband thinks it’s odd that I will put all kinds of things in a bowl of ice cream – like, crushed up cereal, chocolate chips, ground flax seed, wheat germ, walnuts, granola, etc. Mmmm. So good!

Hope you are keeping cool, wherever you are!

PS – what is YOUR favorite kind of ice cream?

PPS – thanks so much to Amy at Healthy, Hungry and Happy. I entered a giveaway on her blog for 4 bags of Bob’s Red Mill Granola (different kinds) and I actually won. I NEVER win anything. Amy, the package arrived today and I’m so excited to try the granola! Thank you again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 5:36 pm

    I love Vanilla Bean ice cream. Other flavors are nice from time to time, but there’s something timeless about simple, creamy vanilla. And if you’re going to add toppings, it goes with everything. I like adding a couple of spoonfuls of peanut butter to my ice cream. (I used to make fun of my dad for always ordering vanilla or banana–two of the most boring flavors! Now I’m the one who prefers vanilla. Daddy’s girl, I guess.)

    • August 10, 2011 5:45 pm

      mmm, vanilla bean is one of my favorites! my husband loves plain ‘ol Bluebell homemade vanilla. hmmm, peanut butter in ice cream? I may have to try this!

Leave a Reply

