Skip to content

raindrops keep falling on my head.

August 11, 2011

This is momentous.

There are storm clouds over Texas.

A little over an hour ago, my husband “picked” me up (he walked to my building from his building – we work on the same university campus) so we could head over to lunch (mmmm, cafeteria food). He came in with a huge smile on his face and told me that it was cool outside, cool and windy. I couldn’t believe it. I quickly pulled up the forecast and saw rain in our future. I brought my umbrella with me, hopeful, and we stepped outside to begin our walk to lunch and lo and behold, it was approx. 80 degrees! Cool! Windy! With dark clouds swirling above us.

Alas on our walk to lunch, it didn’t rain. I was disappointed but still grateful for the much-cooler temperature and reprieve from the sun. But right before we left to go back to our offices, it started drizzling. Not the thin, spit-like rain, but actually decent-sized pellets that fell slowly from the sky. The wind was still moving. I abandoned the thought of using my umbrella – 1) it wouldn’t fit the both of us. 2) the wind was strong enough to keep it unstable. 3) I wanted to enjoy every bit of rain that fell.

So yes, I walked in the rain. And it was glorious.

I’m back in my office, barely soaked from the droplets but I’m still happy. Praying, praying, praying that we’ll get some good ‘ol Texas-sized storms – because here in the Lone Star State, our storms can get massive. We need it – it’s been quite a while.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 12:56 pm

    I miss rainy days! Hoping Houston gets rain soon, too. Lunch dates are the best! So nice that you work on the same campus!

Leave a Reply

