Skip to content

friday. so nice to see you!

September 2, 2011

I never thought I’d say this but I’m definitely working for the weekend. Granted, I love my job and I enjoy what I do but boy, it can be really tiring. Especially the onslaught of the fall semester. Some days I feel like I’ve run a race but I never even left my chair! Whew. So yes, I am EXTREMELY thankful and grateful that today is Friday. Which means . . .

3-day weekend!

Praise the Lord, hallelujah.

It really is a blessing. Three days of rest. So looking forward to it!

On another note, my running has fallen on the backburner. Keeping long-ish hours at work, plus this darn heat and I’m just plain plum tuckered out. But, I’ve managed to get up a bit earlier in the mornings to do a DVD workout at home. It’s not running but it’s something!

Next topic.

Food. (Afterall, this IS a food blog. Ha!)

Because of the chaotic/busy nature this time of year, I haven’t done much trying new recipes. I’ve resorted to tried and true and fast meals, most of them you’ve seen on this blog. I miss cooking new things but it’s just a bit much for me right now. However, I did taste something new about a week ago. My parents-in-law visited my husband and I for the weekend and my amazing mother-in-law whipped up a healthy and delicious dinner for us. They sponsor a child in Indonesia and we ate this in honor of him!

(image taken from here)

Our nasi goreng looked almost exactly like the picture above, but it was vegetarian – brown rice, cabbage, ginger, onions, carrots and mushrooms with some good spices. Plus, we put the rice mixture on nori sheets. Everyone ate theirs like a burrito of sorts but I ate mine like a sushi roll. So good! I really really like dried seaweed. Is that odd? That same weekend, I made one of our favorite dishes ever, sriracha pork. If you haven’t made this, you need to. Like, now.

Asian-style weekend!

So, friends, as you’ve read in the last several posts, I’m pretty swamped with work and life right now. I just hate that my blog has been quiet. But this is where you come in (thanks for the reminder/idea, Organic Bird!). Will you consider writing a guest post for me? Especially if you write about food or cooking, that will certainly help me out with my own cooking. It can be one of these things:

1) food/cooking/recipes (sorry, no casseroles or anything that contains cream of somethingorother – household rules 😉 we’re just not the biggest fan of these things – they tend to not be the healthiest dishes, but I know – they’re pretty tasty)

2) health/fitness (any workouts you are doing, fitness tips, your health journey)

3) favorites/inspiration (favorite places to eat, movies to watch, etc; or, what is inspiring you lately?)

If you’re game, shoot me a message with your idea at jmichelle7 [at] gmail [dot] com. I would really appreciate it!

Until next time . . .

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2011 12:21 am

    I love love love asian food!! it’s pretty much my favorite. besides peanut butter 🙂

Leave a Reply

