Skip to content

thanksgiving, already?

November 24, 2011

Time has certainly flown by, don’t you think? Here we are, on Thanksgiving morning. Thanksgiving! That means the end of the year is coming up! Whew!

Dramatics aside, I wanted to write a quick post to let you know what I’ve been up to lately, me and my almost-20-week preggo self. Work continues to be busy, life has been full, ups and downs have happened but it’s still all been okay. I’m quite blessed with the support of my family, friends and co-workers. What I HAVEN’T been doing as much lately (as in the last 4-5 months) has been NOT cooking from scratch. When you’re working 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday, AND you’re pregnant, it’s just not possible. At least, I haven’t discovered the secret (if you know it, can you please share it with me? pretty please?)

I’ve just been utilizing things from the grocery store like canned goods, frozen veggies, ready-made sauces like pesto and curry paste and spagetti sauce, refrigerated ravioli (let me just say, an amazing meal is mushroom & cheese ravioli by Buitoni with browned butter and fresh basil), those kinds of things. I’m still trying my best to eat healthy during this pregnancy but sometimes that’s a not a success. My husband and I still continue to eat at the vegan cafeteria on campus for lunch – one of my saving graces this semester! Pretty good food for really cheap.

And today’s Thanksgiving. Since I’m feeling all sorts of lazy and not wanting to wrestle clean a frozen turkey, I ended up buying a pre-cooked turkey from our university’s dining services and just made a ready-made Thanksgiving meal for my hubby and I, enjoyed two nights ago to celebrate great news.

We’re having a little baby boy!

Yep, I went and got my sonogram done and lo and behold, most everyone was wrong in their predictions that I was having a little girl. I actually had a dream Sunday night that I was having a boy and my dream came true. We are so so so excited and thankful that not only are we having a baby boy, but he is also very healthy and growing at a good rate! (For those interested, I seem to be measuring a week ahead so baby is at 20 weeks, rather than 19. His vital organs are all good and there and he is just so adorable.)

There he is! And no, we are not revealing his name to anyone, not even family. You’ll just have to wait come April 15.

Anyhoo, back to the food. I didn’t want to cook but I still wanted to enjoy a nice dinner with my husband to celebrate our great news. I ended up just roasting asparagus and making this pilaf of sorts – dried grains (from Target) like bulgur, red quinoa, wild rice, brown rice and wheat. I added some black lentils for a bit more nutrition. Everything else was ready-made, like the refrigerated mashed potatoes, instant gravy (well, I had to mix that with hot water), parker house rolls (took 10 minutes in the oven to bake) and for dessert, fruit crisp with ice cream (from the frozen section). Probably not the healthiest meal but fro my husband and I, it was fantastic.

Not a bad meal, huh?

And here’s another picture for you, just for fun 🙂 a bit blurry but it’ll work. Taken at our friends’ wedding last week.

We have so much to be thankful for. So much. I could list all the things here and it would take me forever and a day. Since we know I’m pretty long-winded already, I’ll spare you. But I am most thankful for Christ’s salvation and his grace in my life, my loving and God-fearing husband who is full of honesty and integrity and kindness, our families (near and far), our jobs, our sweet crazy cat, our little but warm home and our sweet baby boy.

Happy Thanksgiving to you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 11:54 pm

    I don’t believe there is a secret to working full-time while pregnant and creating amazing meals from scratch. Kudos to you for at least keeping up the blog! (Something I’ve failed to do.) I’ve enjoyed the guest posts too. Happy Thanksgiving and congrats again on the baby boy!!

    • November 28, 2011 2:51 pm

      thanks, erin! hope you guys had a great thanksgiving. when is your baby coming??

  2. December 8, 2011 1:56 pm

    A baby boy? Congrats! Dinner looks great! Those pre-made foods, like mashed potatoes, are so helpful!

Leave a Reply

