Skip to content

recipe: black bean brownies.

December 13, 2011

You read that right. Black bean brownies. Brownies with black beans. Yum!

That’s not what my husband thought when he saw me opening a can of black beans after I had just eaten a big lunch. He stood behind me and asked if I was going to make some kind of a dip. I said no. I wondered if he thought it was some pregnancy craving of some sort.

And it was.

Call it “nesting”.

You see, I’m not a baker. I loved baked goods but I don’t so much like to make them. I mean, it’s fine and everything and I’ll enjoy making the occasional pie or cookies but I’d rather be cooking. This is why I know I’m nesting. At 22 weeks, I just have a hankering to make things and organize and clean and whatnot. I wonder how I will be in another month or two??

Back to the brownies. I snickered and told my husband I was going to attempt to make brownies using the beans. He made a face, shuddered and shook his head. He asked me if I was sure. I just laughed and proceeded to make them.

You see, not only have I been nesting but I figured, since I wanted to make something, might as well try to make it healthy for me and the baby. (I have a penchant for tasty desserts.) What better way than to include legumes in a baked good?

Thanks to Google, I found this great recipe from Whole Living. I followed the recipe to a “t” (that’s why I didn’t type it out, no need for repeats) but added a sprinkling of wheat germ at the end, after I added the remaining chocolate chips to the top of the brownies. Also, I don’t have a fancy food processor – just a small one so after pureeing the beans, I put them in a bowl and added the rest of the ingredients. Then I just used a handheld mixer to mix everything up. Give the recipe a look, don’t be afraid!

mmmm, beans! the magical fruit! the more you eat them, the more . . . nevermind πŸ˜‰

And now . . . the finished product:

Looks delicious, right?

And it WAS delicious!

But I have to tell you, I was a bit nervous right before I took the first bite. I mean, I mixed black beans and chocolate! Not the usual pairing that one hears of. But as soon as I tasted it, I knew I had a winner. The brownie has a nice consistency, not fudgy per se but not like a cake. It’s actually a teensy bit crumbly but not bad at all. It was very chocolate-y and not overwhelmingly sweet. A perfect combination in my book.

I managed to get my husband to try one and he really liked it! So much so that he had a piece with his coffee this morning. What does THAT tell you? Oh . . . that we like to eat dessert for breakfast. Sometimes.

I’ll be making these brownies again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephanie Dyar Photography permalink
    December 13, 2011 10:52 am

    cant wait to try these!! gotta get some black beans cookin’!

  2. Lauren S permalink
    August 3, 2012 2:02 am

    Hey Michelle! I tried an experiment tonight with this recipe… I used 3 tablespoons of unsweetened apple sauce instead of the canola oil. It not only makes it healthier but I think it has better texture to. Next time you feel like brownies again I highly recommend trying it.

Leave a Reply

