Skip to content

hello, january 1!

January 1, 2012

Wow. It’s already 2012. Seriously, time flies by so fast! The last time I posted here was on December 13, right as the fall semester was wrapping up. And now, I’m wrapping up a WONDERFUL week of paid vacation and gearing up to go back to work. I blinked and it’s now the new year.

Seeing as it is January 1st, of course there’s plenty of talk about resolutions and such. I am reminded of my own list of resolutions (or as I like to call them, goals):

1. “resolutions. maybe, maybe not” – written on January 6, 2011.

2. “resolutions/goals update. about time, huh?” – written on May 3, 2011.

Was I successful? Let’s see . . .

1. Learn how to properly use ALL my tools in the kitchen and make the most out of them, instead of running out to the store and buying new items & gadgets.
I’d say this was pretty successful. But then again, once I got pregnant and the 1st trimester came with a vengeance, I haven’t done that much cooking, in the way I used to.

2. Organize my kitchen!  I’ve got several drawers of measuring cups, knives, forks, spoons, ladles, etc that are just screaming to be sorted. 
Yes – I actually have my kitchen the way I want it to. The main thing now is keeping my countertops clear of clutter as the days go by in every given week.

3. Read my first non-fiction C.S. Lewis book. 
What can I say . . . still haven’t finished Mere Christianity. But I’ve ready tons of other books in the meantime. I will still try to accomplish this. I may do another post later about books I want to read this year, because I love reading so much!

4. Train well for my 3rd half-marathon.
Same answer as my May 2011 answer – Done and then some!  I ran the Cowtown half-marathon in 2:25 and I completed my 4th half one month later at the Dallas Rock ‘N Roll Half, with a PR (and official time) of 2:13! Read my race recap here. I did a few other races beyond those two, such as a 5k with a PR of 27:55 (8:56 min/mile for me) and a 10k with a PR of 59:42. Since I am almost to the third trimester of my pregnancy, no running races for me. I actually haven’t run since early August. Work and tiredness just got in the way but I’ve managed to stay pretty fit, I think. Except for the last 2 weeks. Ugh. Holidays.

5. Save up money for a very nice Henckel’s chef’s knife. Gulp.
No Henckel’s knife yet. Not a priority at this point.

6. Plan an amazing 5-year-wedding anniversary weekend for my husband and I. Constraints? It’s got to be local (so we can save money).
A wonderful weekend trip to San Francisco! We love that city and had such a great time exploring, eating and celebrating our marriage. Read them here – part 1, part 2, part 3.

7. Host a dinner party. Or two. Or three. Or more!
Semi-successful. Could do better at scheduling dinner parties but time (and money) dampers this goal 😦

8. Host a clothing/accessories exchange.
Didn’t do this but as we prepared our guest bedroom to be the nursery, we managed to get rid of so much! Donated a bunch of clothes that we haven’t used or needed. It felt great to de-clutter and organize.

9. Conquer bechamel sauce and create homemade lasagna (well, except for the noodles part because I don’t have a pasta maker).
Same answer from May 3 post – I actually did this! We ended up eating lasagna on Valentine’s day and it was really good. I found a nice recipe and hope to just make it better in due time. (I have to admit, though, I was a bit nervous making this – especially the bechamel part, but it turned out well. More importantly, the husband LOVED it.)

10. Eat more vegetables and fruit, everyday.
For being pregnant, I think I’ve done this pretty successfully, some days more than others. I’m no vegetarian but I’ve tried to eat nutritiously. It helps that we ate lunch several times a week at a vegan cafeteria on campus. But some days, I ate junk like fried foods and sweets. Sigh. I tried not to overdo it, but those things just taste so good sometimes!

So there you have it, folks. I won’t call myself a failure in regards to this list but I know I still have lots to improve upon. Will I make another list for 2012? Honestly, I don’t know. As soon as I get back to work on Tuesday, I will hit the ground running (figuratively, at least) with busyness. Plus, I have no idea how the 3rd trimester will be for me. I’ve had so much energy and no nausea these last several months but we’ll see. And there’s the whole getting-ready-for-baby-and-all-that-entails. I think that’s big enough of a goal, don’t you think?

I’ll say this – the Lord is good, I have been blessed in ways I never could have imagined and I am grateful. Happy New Year and I hope that this year will be better than the last for each one of you!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering what fun and exciting thing we did for NYE? Why, we stayed at home all day to do as much household stuff as we could before going back to work – dishes and laundry and taking down Christmas decorations (and recording guitar parts for a song – my husband, not me). Though we did a lot, it was still a very relaxing day. I made hoppin’ john (recipe post coming soon!) for dinner, banana blondie bars for dessert and we drank non-alcoholic sparkling apple cider. We managed to make it to midnight, greeted each other with happy tidings and watched The King’s Speech. Suffice to say, we slept in this morning.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 1:31 am

    Looks like you had a pretty good year! My CS Lewis reading is also not as diverse as I would like, thanks for the reminder to work on that. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I hope your 2012 is awesome!

  2. January 5, 2012 6:00 pm

    oh how are you friend?!! I never was able to get your emails from your other blog. The private one. So good to hear from you though. Catch me up!

Leave a Reply

