Skip to content

recipe: banana oat bars.

January 12, 2012

Bananas are not my favorite fruit. I like ’em fine but I don’t usually get a hankering for them. However, we try to have a bunch of bananas (among other pieces of fruit) at our home at all times, for a quick, nutritious snack. The thing is, I only like bananas when they’re at a certain stage. With a slight green color remaining on the skin. That way, the banana has a tartness to it but with a growing sweetness too. My poor husband. I make him eat the spotty, sweet bananas. He’s a gem like that, knowing that really ripe bananas gross me out. And this has nothing to do with me being pregnant!

Anyways, I tend to find myself in this dilemma quite often. We’re down to 2 or 3 overripe bananas. Even my husband has his limits (i.e. he can’t bear to eat another one of these spotty bananas). What to do with it? Sure, I could make banana bread but baking it just seems like an ordeal at times. What else could I do?

The other day, I was reading The Kitchn, one of my favorite food & cooking blogs. I stumbled upon this recipe for really ripe bananas. Hurrah! And it seems very healthy, too. I gave it a whirl and whaddaya know . . . I loved it. These snack bars are so easy to make and it calls for ingredients I already have in my pantry. Plus, my husband likes them too. These are not very sweet, just to warn you but I like them that way (less calories!). You could add a sprinkling of sugar to the mix before baking, if you want, or you could just drizzle a bit of honey when the bars are cooled and ready to be eaten. I’ll definitely be making these again.

Banana Oat Bars (slightly adapted from The Kitchn)

Ingredients

  • 2 regular sized, really ripe bananas
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups uncooked, old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup walnut pieces
  • cinnamon

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mash the bananas in a mixing bowl. Make sure to mash the bananas well, leaving no large lumps. The bananas should end up looking like liquid (or almost).

2. Add vanilla, oats, raisins and walnuts. Mix well.

3. Put the banana oat mixture in a lightly greased 9×9 inch baking dish. Pack the mixture in firmly, sprinkle with cinnamon and bake for 30 minutes, or until the edges start to crisp.

4. Cool for a while before cutting into bars.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 10:26 pm

    baking your banana oat bars right now! it’s starting to smell yummy . . .

Trackbacks

  1. An Adventure « laurel leaf

Leave a Reply

