Skip to content

recipe: fudge babies and oat fudge balls.

January 14, 2012

Is that not the best name? I love it – because it makes me smile and they are so good.

So what are fudge babies? Let me back up.

I have a sweet tooth and can eat almost any kind of dessert out there but for our health (as well as the health of our baby), it’s best not to indulge. Once in a while is okay, but not everyday. Plus, having just taken my 1-hour glucose test to see if I have gestation diabetes (praise God I don’t! I passed the test!), I want to be more conscious of what I eat. I’m already pretty conscious about my diet but the holidays were difficult. So much good food! I did well during the first trimester but as the holidays neared, my will turned into putty. And today marks the day of the third trimester for me – so why not use this time to turn over a new leaf? Now, I’m not going to promise you I won’t eat sweets but I figured, let’s come up with an alternative.

I’ve already started venturing out in this arena – making black bean brownies. I can still satisfy my sweet tooth but have some nutrition in there. Well, the other day in a random search for recipes online, I found this recipe for Fudge Babies. Thank you, Chocolate Covered Katie! You are amazing for having a blog just for healthy desserts. My world is complete. (You should check out her blog. You won’t regret it. She’s got a ton of healthy dessert recipes!!)

What are Fudge Babies? Why, they are wonderful little balls of chocolate goodness. And the best thing about them is, the sweetness comes from the vanilla & raisins (the original recipe called for dates, which are better than raisins but I didn’t have any dates in the house. Gotta go with what you have!). Here’s my take on it:

Fudge Babies (very slightly adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie)

  • 1 cup walnuts & almonds (whatever ratio you want to do)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2-3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla

1. Put walnuts and almonds in a food processor and grind them into small pieces. Add the raisins and grind again, for several seconds or so, taking care not to grind finely. (I noticed that the raisins didn’t really get ground into pieces, since they’re small to begin with.)

2. Put raisin and nut mixture into a bowl and add vanilla, stirring well.

3. Add cocoa powder. Mix well again.

4. Using your hands, portion out the mixture and make them into small balls.

5. Enjoy! I promise you, these are good. Very good.

After tasting one of these babies (ha!), I decided to make another batch, but with oats (walnuts and almonds can be so expensive at times!). Let’s just say that while the oat fudge balls are good, they were harder to make. I’ll go ahead and put the recipe on here (based on this other recipe I found online). I’m going to make this again but will NOT grind the oats (they’re already small enough) and will use more raisins to begin with. The recipe below will outline a simpler, non-ground way. If anyone out there in internet-land has some great raw protein dessert recipes like the Fudge Babies or these oat fudge balls, please share! I’d love to have more in my arsenal.

Oat Fudge Balls

  • 1 cup old-fashioned, uncooked oats
  • 1/2 raisins (I probably ended up using a total of 3/4 cup raisins)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1-2 tbsp honey (or more, if you need to make the mixture stick together more)

1. Mix all ingredients well.

2. Using your hands, portion out mixture and roll into small balls. If the mixture is too dry, add a bit more honey. It took me probably about a minute (much too long in my book) to roll one of these up.

3. Enjoy! (I did enjoy eating a few of these, AFTER I got over my mistakes and frustration in rolling the mixture up into balls. I will just try again to make this recipe better and easier.)

Warning: 3rd trimester picture up ahead! I got my hubby to take the first two pictures of me. And yes, for those who saw me yesterday, I AM wearing the same tshirt FROM yesterday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. april d permalink
    January 15, 2012 5:32 am

    I totally love these. A couple things you could add to make them really yummy are coconut, dates, and agave nectar. I made some with a dash of mint extract and extra cocoa and they were awesome too. Also, I used a spoon of coconut oil to hold them together.

  2. January 15, 2012 7:34 pm

    ahh you are glowing with pregnancy! i love it, and love the recipe!

Leave a Reply

