Skip to content

recipe: healthier peanut butter cookies.

January 21, 2012

Ahhh, another Saturday morning. The weather in north Texas has been odd as of late (but then again, this is normal around here) – beautiful, spring-like weather (high of 70 degrees) yesterday and then a high of 50 degrees today. I woke up this morning, on my own own volition and not by the forceful prompting of the alarm clock, a bit chilly. It was nice! I let my husband sleep in a bit more while I made my way to the kitchen to make us breakfast.

Ha! Breakfast, indeed. Nesting kicked into high gear immediately and I set out to make peanut butter cookies. Why peanut butter cookies, you ask? The other day, when my husband and I were eating lunch together at the cafeteria, we had some no-bake oatmeal chocolate peanut butter cookies. You know which one I’m talking about. That got us talking about other cookies we enjoy and he mentioned his love for peanut butter cookies, especially his mom’s recipe. I decided then that I would make my loving husband these cookies!

Alas, I really do try my best to have our household eat as healthy as possible, with indulgences every now and then.

CONFESSION: we stopped at Dairy Queen last night, on the way home form work, bought us some blizzards and a small order of fries. Ate that, and then snacked on pretzels, chips and salsa. Hubby drank a beer to wash it all down. We never ate dinner. We ate like college students. We are definitely not health freaks around here. Sometimes you just have to let loose!

Back to being healthy, ahem. I didn’t have my mother-in-law’s recipe, so I decided to just go online to find a healthier version of peanut butter cookies. Thanks to this wonderful website, I was successful! My slightly modified version is below. These cookies are so good! Not overpoweringly sweet, but sweet enough. And that peanut buttery goodness? Oh my. I hope you enjoy this!

Healthier Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies (adapted from Daily Unadventures in Cooking)

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup regular, extra crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/8 cup agave nectar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats, uncooked
  • 2 cups quick oats, uncooked
  • 1 1/4 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In a large bowl, beat oil and peanut butter with a wooden spoon. Add the eggs, mix well and then add agave nectar, brown sugar and vanilla, mixing some more.

2. Using the same bowl, add all the oats. Stir until oats are almost coated. Add flour, baking powder and baking soda and mix, until almost incorporated. Don’t overmix.

3. Form 1 inch balls of dough and place on a cookie sheet (I lined mine with foil). Press the doug balls slightly and bake for 10-12 minutes.

I’m not sure how many cookies I made total because as I made them, my husband and I ate them. Sigh. That’s what happens when you have freshly baked cookies! They’re just so good straight out of the oven.

Oh, and cookies aren’t the only things we ate for breakfast. I had some leftover quinoa in the fridge so I warmed it up with some milk, added chopped apples and walnut pieces to it and season it to taste with cinnamon and honey. It was really good. A pretty decent breakfast in my book, I think! My husband was a fan of it all so I am pleased.

Onward and upward on to this beautiful day! We did our morning devotions, some chores around the house and now, I’ll be getting ready for a trip to Sam’s with my friend Kathryn. I don’t have too much to buy yet but I’m excited to save some money while buying some bulk items. Hurrah! Ahh, the things adults get excited over.

Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

