Skip to content

a little randomness for you.

January 22, 2012

What I’m liking and enjoying right now (not that I’ll dislike these things later . . . you know what I mean!):

Season 1 of BBC’s Sherlock (my husband got me the DVD series!). I’ve probably mentioned here once or twice that I’m a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes. We own almost the Grenada Television’s DVD series from the 80s, a hardback copy of the canon and now this. (Sorry, folks. While the Robert Downey Jr. versions of Sherlock Holmes are good, it’s just too Hollywood-y for me. I’m a Sherlock snob, what can I say?)

image credit here

My new water bottle, from the Container Store. It’s 32 oz, BPA-free and it doesn’t leak! Mine is the blue one and my husband’s is the black one. His and hers water bottles.

image credit here

Dairy Queen mini-blizzards and fries. I know, I know. These things are not healthy but once in a while is NOT bad! You gotta enjoy a treat every now and then. And this is a treat for me! (My husband thinks mini-blizzards are too small; he likes the next size up.) The mini-blizzard is the one in the right-hand side of the picture, the smallest of the bunch. Oh, and their fries! When you get it freshly made, they are oh so good.

image credit here

Parking farther so I can enjoy a nice, brisk walk to my office building. This is definitely good for me, as my 5:30 am exercise routine is no more (I am not sleeping well at night anymore, so getting up that early for exercise? No way! I’ll take as much sleep as I can get now). On a given day, I’ll get to walk approx. 1.5 miles, from the parking lot to the building and back, and from the office to the one of the university cafeterias on campus. Which leads me to this . . .

The spring-like weather. While I love winter and would rather it be cold right now (you know, January, winter, that kind of thing), I am thankful for spring-like temperatures. It makes my walks more enjoyable.

image from wunderground.com

Costa Rican Tarrazu coffee from World Market. For part of my husband’s Christmas gift, I got him this special coffee from World Market. It’s actually one of our favorite blends. And while I AM pregnant, it’s okay for me to drink a small cup of coffee ever so often.

image credit here

Paul Baloche’s “Glorious” album. One of my husband’s Christmas presents to me. It is such a great worship album!

image credit here

Ina May Gaskin’s Guide to Childbirth. A great book to encourage me and help me prepare for labor and delivery. A must-read for women who are pregnant! Thankfully I found a used copy of it at our local used bookstore.

image credit here

And, one last thing – William Wilberforce: The Life of the Great Anti-Slavery Campaigner. I’ve had this book for several years now but have yet to get through it. I WILL finish it in 2012! Slowly but surely reading it.

image credit here

What are YOU liking/enjoying lately?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 5:04 pm

    those water bottles look great!

    • January 23, 2012 5:24 pm

      i’ve used several different kinds in the past and i have to say this is my favorite! it cost $9.99 plus tax – a little bit more than what i would have liked to spend but i figured, if i am refilling it with water from home, i’m doing my part to help the environment (and it is cost-effective!).

  2. January 25, 2012 2:35 pm

    I LOVE Sherlock! The writer is very talented. Love his other stuff (but maybe because I’m a geek).

  3. January 29, 2012 2:26 am

    Yay for mini blizzards and reading Wilberforce!

Leave a Reply

