Skip to content

recipe: chickpea & chicken filipino menudo.

January 31, 2012

Have you ever heard of menudo? I’m not talking about this:

70’s and 80’s boy band. um, no. image credit here

I’m talking about menudo, the food! There are two types of menudo – the Mexican soup version, made with beef stomach and eaten with tortillas; and the Filipino stew version, usually made with pork or beef. Today, we’re going to talk about the Filipino version, of course! Because I’m Filipino and that’s that.

I grew up eating menudo with steamed rice, made by my parents. I think my husband has only eaten it once. It’s got a somewhat sweet, but tomato-y taste and it’s very good. My husband though I’d be making the beef stomach version and to assure him I wasn’t, I told him it has a similar taste to afritada, which I’ve made before, which he likes. I decided to go ahead and make menudo, to freeze and eat later. (Freeze/batch cooking post will come soon!)

Are you adventurous enough to try this? 🙂

Chickpea & Chicken Filipino Menudo (adapted from Ang Sarap – tagalog for “how tasty!”)

Ingredients

  • 1 large chicken breast, cut into small chunks
  • 1 15 oz can of chickpeas, drained
  • 1 cup carrots, diced (I used the petite carrots that come in a bag; easier to cut since they were already small and peeled)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups potato, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup frozen green peas
  • 2 cups fat free, low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup frozen chopped onion
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 4 tbsp tomato paste
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp white sugar
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • 1 tbsp canola oil

1. Heat oil in a large, deep pan. Sautee garlic and onions, til the onions are soft and translucent.

2. Add chicken and chickpeas. Cook until the chicken is done and slightly browned.

3. Add broth, carrots, potatoes, tomato paste, vinegar, soy sauce, sugar and bay leaves. Stir well (making sure tomato paste is incorporated) and bring to a boil. Lower heat, cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

4. Add frozen peas and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.

5. When simmer time is done, season to taste with salt and pepper. Remove from heat and serve with rice.

(I portioned this out – froze two batches, enough for 2 dinners for my husband and I.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Laura Grubbs permalink
    February 1, 2012 2:09 pm

    I have never had menudo but this sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

