Skip to content

recipe: buffalo chickpea dip.

February 1, 2012

I’ve heard the quote “necessity is the mother of invention” – maybe whoever said that knew someone who was pregnant. Because when a PREGNANT woman, like myself, has a craving, she just has to do what she has to do.

(me at 28 weeks & 3 days)

Okay, there’s no question about it – I LOVE buffalo wings. Wingstop’s original hot and cajun flavor, ohmy (and don’t get me started about their fries). I could eat buffalo wings all the time – I just love the flavor. Anyways, years ago, a friend made a dip for a party she was throwing and it changed my life. She made buffalo chicken dip. Unfortunately, I lost her recipe but thanks to the interwebs, there are tons of various buffalo chicken dip recipes.

The other night, my pregnancy craving was in high gear. I WANTED to have buffalo wings. Alas, they usually are not healthy for you (the sauce is mixed with butter, the wings are deep fried, etc) and I didn’t want to spend money just for this craving. I started looking online for buffalo chicken dip recipes and knew that I needed to make some. But again, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money in making this dip.

After looking at several recipes, I decided to be “creative” (okay, cheap). We didn’t have any chicken at home but I had just made a batch of chickpeas on the crockpot (I’m starting to use dried beans instead of canned ones). I figured, I use chickpeas as a chicken replacement in quite a few dishes – surely I can use chickpeas for this dip! The only things I ended up getting from the store was Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wing Sauce and fat-free cream cheese.

Well, when all was said and done, I was happy, very happy with the results. Even my husband enjoyed the dip (he’s not a fan of the normal version). That says a lot. I’ll definitely be making this dip again, as it’s cheap and as healthy as I could get it without sacrificing the flavor and texture that I love. And with Super Bowl Sunday right around the corner, you may want to give this a try as well!

(Warning – the picture isn’t great; what can you expect from an orange-y/red dip?)

Buffalo Chickpea Dip

  • 1 cup cooked chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup Frank’s RedHot Buffalo Wing Sauce
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese dressing
  • 1/4 cup light caesar dressing
  • 8 oz fat free cream cheese

1. Using a food processor, coarsely grind the chickpeas, then set aside.

2. In a shallow pot, begin melting cream cheese on medium-low heat. Add the wing sauce, both dressings and chickpeas. Stir every so often, so as not to scald the cream cheese. Once the cheese has melted, mix ingredients well.

3. Continue heating and stirring for about 10 minutes, or until the mixture is heated through.

4. Serve with tortilla chips.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 8:38 pm

    I’m making buffalo chicken dip for this Sunday, and after my husband gave me a serious case of the sadface when I told him he’d have to wait, I was racking my brain and couldn’t think of a cheaper & “healthier” alternative for non-Super Bowl days. This is the perfect answer!

  2. February 2, 2012 12:39 am

    Your baby bump is adorable!

    I love buffalo wings, but I never make them myself. This dip sounds delicious and like the perfect way to use up that bottle of Red Hot that’s hanging out in my fridge. Thanks!

  3. February 25, 2012 5:47 pm

    I’m dying to make this. My husband and I love dips, and we love buffalo wing flavor (and I love chickpeas), so this should be perfect!

  4. February 29, 2012 3:24 pm

    These recipes sound so yummy.
    I am following you now

Trackbacks

  1. In the Kitchen: Buffalo Chicken Dip | Ginger(ly) Homemaking

Leave a Reply

