Skip to content

post-pregnancy plans.

February 22, 2012

I read quite a few healthy living and food blogs, mainly written by women. Some of these ladies are pregnant (or have had a baby in recent months) so it’s been neat to read about their experiences. Some of them have written about their post-pregnancy plans. I started thinking about this, because I’m the type to set goals. Here are my post-pregnancy plans, Lord willing!

1) Learn to take care of my baby, because I sure as heck know NOTHING about babies. My husband knows less so this will be quite an adventure for the two of us.

2) Continue to follow a balanced, healthy diet (with splurges every now and then).

3) Ease back into an exercise routine.

4) Get as much sleep as I can!

5) In the summer months (baby is due mid-April), do a 3-mile walking DVD at home, about 2 times a week, do my kettlebells routine 2 times a week and hopefully run 2 times a week (one speed session and the other a “long” run session).

6) Lose the baby weight!

7) Have muscle tone again – I think my kettlebells will help with this.

8) Sign up for a race in the fall!

Admittedly, I’ve been a bit jealous of my running friends. They get to run and I don’t! But really, I’m happy that they are running. Especially my friend Courtney, who just ran her first 10k ever at 1:12! Isn’t that amazing? She is going to tackle her first half marathon in less than a month. So proud of her!

As far as my running goals, I want to get back to my comfortable base time of running 10-minute miles. It might take me a while to get back to that, seeing as I haven’t run in the last 5-6 months, but I’m confident I will get there (albeit painfully and slowly, haha). I’d love to be able to run my town’s 4th of July 5k. I don’t think I’ll beat my Garmin PR of 27:47; I’ll just run it and see how I feel. Some of my old running group friends have encouraged me to try my first marathon, in December 2012. As much as that thought excites me (and scares me!), I don’t know if it’ll be feasible – I’ll be a first time mom with a newborn whose schedule will dictate mine. Plus I’ll be working full-time too. If I don’t do a marathon in December, I might go for a half. There’s a particular race in the area – a huge one, in fact – the White Rock Half Marathon & Marathon that I’ve always wanted to do, but never been able to run for one reason or another. We’ll see. But I’d love to do a marathon in my 30th year on earth (I turn 30 this July). Again, who knows? I don’t know if I can run it straight through, unlike the half marathon distance. For the marathon, because of my old knee injury, I may have to do the run/walk/run plan, which is fine by me.

But I know myself, though. I’m pretty cautious when it comes to running/training. I don’t want to get any new injuries or re-injure my right knee. I’m all about taking my time and listening to my body. No need to rush to reach my goals. I’ll be fine if it takes me quite a while. I’d love to be able to PR in the 5k early in the fall. I really really really want to run a 24-25 minute 5k. I’m thinking, since who knows how my body will be and how crazy my schedule will be with family, work, baby, etc, I might just concentrate on the 5k for quite a few months. Then I’d love to PR in the 10k – maybe 50-56 minutes? And then by spring 2013, try for a PR in the half – I’m hoping for running that distance at exactly 2 hours. It would be wonderful if I could run it under 2 hours, maybe one day?

Eeek!

Ahhh, thinking about running just makes me excited! I registered for a jogging stroller so hopefully wee little baby and I can go on some runs together. Yes, please!

But thinking about holding my baby boy makes me even more giddy. Only approximately 8 more weeks now, if he comes on his due date. Wow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittnye permalink
    February 23, 2012 1:33 am

    You got a jogging stroller at the shower that I am jealous of! I like your plan! baby steps though and hey! the joy of a newborn is they do sleep a lot so you should bust out that jogger stroller and just walk the neighborhood daily in the spring weather as a start.

  2. February 23, 2012 11:53 am

    I love hearing your pregnancy updates. Glad things are going well and hope the next 8 weeks are smooth sailing.

Leave a Reply

