Skip to content

recipe: fruit & spinach smoothie.

February 25, 2012

Whew! It has been a long day. I woke up at 5:15 am this morning, fell back asleep for ten minutes then finally got up to get ready for my work day. On a Saturday. Go ahead, pity me.

😉

Today marked the last audition day our music college had. I had to be on campus from 6:30 am til 4 pm, to man our music education table in registering applicants for their interviews. Nothing exciting but it was fun to interact with high school seniors, excited yet nervous to try their hand at music.

But yes, it was a long day. Thankfully I had plenty of help, with a teaching fellow assisting me (running up and down the stairs to update interview lists, etc) – as my 33-week pregnant self couldn’t handle too much movement. When I got home, my husband surprised me with a Dove bar of chocolate (with toasted almonds) and a nice BBQ dinner from a local restaurant. I am loved! Followed by a nap, lounging around and reading random internet articles. Since the BBQ dinner filled me up, I wasn’t in the mood to eat anything but I needed a pick-me-up so I could work on baby shower thank you cards. What to make? A smoothie!

I got a hankering for a smoothie the other day and attempted my first “green monster” – a fruit & spinach smoothie mixture.

(not so green – I was a bit nervous putting spinach into a smoothie mix but you can see bits of the leafy green here)

I used our almost 6-year old blender and while the smoothie was great, I was frustrated because I think the blender is on its last leg. When I was out and about running errands after work yesterday, I saw a one-serving blender on sale so I made the splurge. It was only $16.99. I can’t afford a Vitamix at this point in time so this Hamilton Beach blender had to do:

image credit here

As soon as I got home from my errands, I made a smoothie. Another good one! After posting a status on Facebook about it, several friends asked if I had a “recipe”. Here’s my take on this fruit & spinach smoothie tonight:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup spinach leaves (stems removed, divided into 1/2 cup portions)
  • 4 oz Dannon Activia light blueberry yogurt
  • 1 cup frozen fruit (I used a mixture of strawberries and a tropical fruit blend from Target, divided into 1/2 cup portions)
  • 1 tsp Hodgson Mills unprocessed wheat bran

The instruction booklet didn’t say much (and had no recipes) except that you should put the liquid in first. So here’s what I did:

1. Add water, yogurt and first 1/2 cup portion of frozen fruit to blender. Blend for 5-10 seconds or so.

2. Add first 1/2 cup portion of spinach, then blend for 5 seconds (or until the spinach leaves are blended into bits).

3. Add second 1/2 cup portion of fruit, wheat bran and remaining spinach. Blend to desired consistency.

A lot greener, huh?

If you’ve got a workhorse of a blender, by all means, add ice if you want. I don’t think this personal blender can handle ice (the blades are pretty small) but I’m fine with the smoothies that I’ve made so far (just using frozen fruit). Feel free to experiment and add whatever ingredients you want. This smoothie was not too sweet, but not too tart either. I think it was perfectly balanced. Next time, I may add walnuts – mmmmm! Hope you enjoy this!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    March 6, 2012 2:54 pm

    Ok, so I was a little worried. Mine looked way greener than yours! But, it was surprisingly delicious!!! Although, I used pomegranate juice instead of water, just to make it a bit sweeter. Super pumped! Thanks for sharing, Michelle!!!!

Leave a Reply

